10 countries with Blue Red and Yellow flags (Colors, Symbols, Facts)

countries with blue red yellow flags

There are currently 10 countries with blue, red and yellow national flags: Armenia, Chad, Colombia, Congo DR, Mongolia, Romania, Andorra, Ecuador, Venezuela and Moldova.

Each of these countries has a unique story and history behind their blue, red and white flag.

Armenia - Red/Blue/Yellow Flag

Flag of Armenia

The flag of Armenia is a horizontal tricolor of red, blue, and orange. The colors represent different aspects of the Armenian people and their culture. The red stripe represents the blood that was shed during the Armenian Genocide, while the blue stripe symbolizes hope and rebirth. The yellow (orange or gold) stripe represents the country’s independence and courage. The flag was officially adopted on August 24th, 1990, four months after the country declared its independence from the Soviet Union. 

Andorra - Blue/Yellow/Red Flag with a coat of arms

Flag of Andorra

The flag of Andorra was officially standardized in 1996 when the country joined the United Nations. The design of the flag is a simple tricolor of blue, yellow, and red horizontal stripes. The colors used on the Andorran flag are said to be inspired by those found on the French flag.

The symbolism behind the colors on the flag of Andorra is not fully known, but it is speculated that the blue represents the sky, the yellow larger band represents the golden fields of the country, and the red represents Andorra’s brave and heroic people.

The Andorran flag is also unusual in that it features a greater width-to-length ratio than most flags, being 7:10.

Chad - Blue/Yellow/Red Flag

Flag of Chad

The flag of Chad is a tricolor consisting of blue, yellow, and red vertical stripes. The blue stripe represents the sky, the yellow represents the sun, and the red represents the blood shed by Chadian martyrs. The flag was first adopted on November 6, 1959.

Romania - Blue/Yellow/Red Flag

Flag of Romania

The colors of the Romanian flag have significant meaning. The three colors of the flag represent the colors of blood that were shed during the country’s fight for independence, liberty, and unity. The Romanian flag was officially adopted on December 1, 1989. Prior to this, the country had a variety of flags that represented different periods in its history. The Romanian flag is similar to the flags of Chad and Moldova.

Moldova - Blue/Yellow/Red Flag

Flag of Moldova

The current flag of Moldova was adopted on April 27, 1990, and is a tricolor of blue, yellow, and red vertical stripes. The blue stripe represents the sky, the yellow represents the richness of the country’s wheat fields, and the red represents the valor of the people. In the center of the flag is the national coat of arms, which features a dark golden eagle clutching a cross in its beak and a sceptre and an olive branch in its talons. The eagle symbolizes strength and power, while the cross represent Christianity. The sceptre and olive branch represent peace and prosperity. Together, these symbols represent Moldova’s history and aspirations for the future.

Mongolia - Red/Blue/Red Flag with a yellow symbol

Flag of Mongolia

The flag of Mongolia was adopted on February 12, 1992. It is similar to the flags of other Communist countries, but it also includes traditional Mongolian symbols. The red background represents the struggles of the Mongolian people, while the blue stripe represents the country’s vast skies and steppes. The center emblem is the Soyombo symbol, which was used as a national emblem in the 17th century. The two triangles represent Fire and Water, while the Sun in the center signifies purity and honesty. The figures inside the triangles represent the Male and Female principles, and the bars at the bottom represent eternity. Overall, the flag of Mongolia is a beautiful representation of the country’s history and culture.

Congo DR- Blue/Red Flag with a yellow star

Flag of Congo DR

The flag of Democratic Republic of Congo was adopted on 20 February 2006. The Blue background represents peace. Red stands for “the blood of the country’s martyrs”, yellow the country’s wealth; and the star a radiant future for the country.

Ecuador - Yellow/Blue/Red with a coat of arms

Flag of Ecuador

The flag of Ecuador was adopted in 1960 and is a tricolor flag featuring horizontal bands of yellow (double width), blue, and red. The yellow band represents the country’s abundant gold resources, while the blue band represents the ocean that borders Ecuador and the sky. The red band represents the blood shed by Ecuadorian heroes during the country’s struggle for independence. Together, the three colors symbolize Ecuador’s natural wealth and its proud history.

Colombia - Yellow/Blue/Red

Flag of Colombia

The colors of the flag are said to symbolize Colombia’s struggle for independence, with the yellow representing virtue and justice, the blue representing loyalty and fidelity, and the red representing courage and heroism. The flag is also said to represent Colombia’s three geographical regions: the Caribbean coast, the Andes mountains, and the Amazon rainforest.

Venezuela - Yellow/Blue/Red with 8 white stars

Flag of Venezuela

The flag of Venezuela was adopted on March 12, 1806. The current design features three horizontal stripes of yellow, blue, and red. Although the colors of the Venezuelan flag are often said to symbolize the country’s independence (yellow), bravery (blue), and courage (red), this is not actually the case. Instead, the colors were chosen to represent the Spanish Royalist colors of yellow and red, with blue added to represent the separate provinces that made up Venezuela. Over time, however, the symbolism of the flag’s colors has come to be more associated with Venezuelan nationalism. Today, the flag is a powerful symbol of Venezuelan identity and is proudly flown by Venezuelans both at home and abroad.